5 More Municipal Candidates File Friday

UPDATE – Friday’s Filings:

5 candidates filed for municipal office Friday in the Columbia County Clerk’s office:

Steve Crowell – Magnolia Alderman Ward 4, Position 2,
Jerry Smith – Waldo Mayor,
Samantha Vaughn – Taylor Mayor,
Johnny Hayes – Taylor Alderman, Ward 1, Position 2,
William Paul Higgins – Taylor Alderman, Ward 3, Position 1.


The filing period for those seeking municipal office began July 27th. Through Friday, a total of 13 candidates have filed for city offices in Columbia County.  Candidates who filed prior to Friday are listed below.

In Waldo: Alderman Kenneth Haupt has filed for Mayor; Paula Jean Williams has filed for Alderman in Ward 1- Position 1; and LaWanda Battle has filed for re-election as Alderman in Ward 3- Position 1.

In Taylor: the incumbent Mayor Charles Matlock has filed for re-election; Clifford Page is also running for Taylor Mayor; and Nora Corcoran has filed for Alderman in Ward 1- Position 1.

In Emerson: former Mayor Joe Mullins has filed to run again for Mayor; and Donna Bilbray has filed for re-election as an Alderman.

The filing period for municipal offices continues until noon on Friday, August 17th. You can get more information in the County Clerk’s office.